Board of Trustees

Comprised of a group of executives, experts and professionals in the Greater Seattle Area, our board of trustees offers critical guidance and solutions to ensure The Hearthstone’s long term success. Their oversight is invaluable as the community meets and exceeds its mission, goals and potential.

Professional Practice Experienced Manager, Assurance Learning at BDO USA, LLP | Member since 2019, Trustee since 2019

Retired, University of Washington | Trustee since 2020

LEE COHRS, Secretary
Program Manager and Logistics at Nordstrom | Trustee since 2018

TERI HIGBY, CPA, Member at Large
Senior Tax Manager at Ward & Company | Trustee since 2015

DOUG CUSTER, CFP, CAP, Member at Large
Director, Financial Planning at Edelman Financial Engines | Member since 2022

Business Analyst at Food Lifeline | Trustee since 2018

Physician at Seattle Children’s Hospital | Trustee since 2020

Faculty of Nursing at Seattle Pacific University | Member since 2017

Pastor at Ballard First Lutheran Church; Attorney | Trustee since 2020

Vice President, Development at Seattle Children’s Foundation | Member since 2022

Vice President, Sales and Education at American Reporting Company | Member since 2022

  • As a long-time Green Lake resident, when I began to explore retirement living communities, The Hearthstone quickly became the perfect choice. I have met so many wonderful and interesting people here. I enjoy having a bistro in my building and access to so many excellent fitness classes, movies, educational classes and other activities offered. I made the best decision for me, and it is a gift to my children as well. They are grateful that I reside is such a safe, caring and supporting community and so am I.

    ~Terri, Cove East
  • Our decision to move to Cove West at the Hearthstone took several years. We were specifically looking for a non-profit CCRC in order to meet any future healthcare needs. The Hearthstone’s well-established reputation stood out as did the Green Lake location, which in our opinion is unmatched in the Seattle area.  All of the community's amenities and the newly-built (at the time) Cove West sealed the deal. Last but not least, we have found true community with our neighbors.

    ~Dave and Judy, Cove West
  • We lived separately and happily at the Hearthstone for several years, and we still consider our individual moves here to be very good decisions. We met at dinner one evening and thoroughly enjoyed each other’s company. As a result, the second, totally unexpected decision we made to move in together was another very good decision. Together, we have found something we thought was lost forever. Not everyone finds love at eighty-one. We wouldn’t have either had one of us not moved to The Hearthstone.  

    ~Keith and Therese, The Lakeside
  • I love living at The Hearthstone and in the wonderful Green Lake neighborhood. My fellow residents and I make up a close-knit community in which there are countless opportunities to improve our physical, mental and spiritual well-being. And the food is good too!

    ~Don, The Lakeside
  • We love calling the Hearthstone our home, as does our dog Dosey, who is SO happy living just one block from Green Lake park. Exercise classes and the well-equipped gym keep us physically active. Music trivia and local excursions are fun. The staff supports our daily living with maintenance, cleaning, rides, trips, humor and kindness. We feel lucky to live here.

    ~Ann and Mary, The Lakeside
  • It is all about community at The Hearthstone and not just the Green Lake neighborhood community.  While we love living in such a vibrant neighborhood, it is the true sense of community with other residents and staff members that makes The Hearthstone so special.

    ~Frank and Jean, The Lakeside

A vibrant community in the heart of Green Lake

Hearthstone fireplace
Tasty and healthy meals in a restaurant style setting.
Heartstone Green Lake families
A robust retail scene.
Hearthstone pet friendly
A home for all seasons. You’ll love the autumn colors!
Hearthstone kitchen dining
Hearthstone coffee club

We'd love to hear from you.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.